| urbanology |

Fat Freddy´s Drop – Live at the Matterhorn

Posted on: October 23, 2007

Rainbownorth is so kind to let us post Fat Freddy´s Drop “Live at the Matterhorn” here, thanks for your work!

From Sydney Morning Herald:

“Word of mouth alone saw their debut release, Live at the Matterhorn, sell 9000 copies (that’s a gold record in Kiwiland) in a few months. It’s doubly remarkable when you consider that it was a 70 minute CD with only four tracks on it.”

Rainbownorth:

Though most of these songs are not played anymore, Runnin’ has become a live and fan favourite. This is not FFD at their absolute zenith, but is still a really tight recording. Trombonist Ho Pepa is not present at this point,but the horns section is still crisp and tight, the vocals smooth as always, and the keys are very nice. My personal favourite is Rain, though all of the songs are listenable.

Contrary to the current Fat Freddy´s Drop, on this recording from 2001 the band here is a little bit more into Jazz, today they are more into Reggae, seems they exchanged the emphasis. The recording quality of this live take is good.

Four songs, 70 Minutes.

And here is more to come, again provided by rainbownorth, a a radio session they did in the localised Wellington area, for a station called Radio Active FM. The quality is pretty nice all the way through (192 kbps mp3), all tracks are excellent, but my personal favourites are The Nod and Midnight Marauders: the first for its pure fat booty funk, and the second for its soulful beauty and incredibly beautiful lyrics and vocals. Hope and Midnight Marauders have been played before on other recordings (the first I have is a BBC session for Giles Peterson), but these are some of the most complete and extensive recordings, and they certainly sound as good as I’ve ever heard this band. Somewhere around there is a video for this session, and I’d kill to get it, but have no idea how I would ever see it, considering how few people I know have this…I haven’t even given it to all of my friends who follow this band. Anyway, hearing it is just as good, so enjoy!

Radio Active FM Session

15 Responses to "Fat Freddy´s Drop – Live at the Matterhorn"

Thanks for these sessions, I’ve only just found your site. Great collection of tunes you have.

Have tried to download from the “Four songs” link but it never seems available.
Managed to catch FFD earlier this year in Manchester (UK) great gig. Would love to hear the jazzier side of Fat Freddy

thank you 🙂

mh, both files from the matterhorn record are up, what kind of problems do you mean? I checked them a minute ago, no probs.

@paul
secured.in is working with pop-ups, maybe your browser blocked them?

That was it, Firefox and NoScript working too well!!

I had never heard of them… I’ll check them out right now!.. oh and also a big big Thank You for linking me to your site!

Thanks again, saludos

hi ecbtk, let me know if you like fat freddys drop. and if you do, you have to get their full length debut “based on a true story”, fantastic tunes!

sorry for the late answer.. yes, I’m feeling them, I’m feeling them very much! gonna try to find that based on a true story album..

thanks man : )

🙂

have fun:
http://rapidshare.com/files/23140671/Fat_Freddys_Drop.zip

not from me, only found it, don´t know what bitrate used

Thank you SO MUCH for sharing all these Fat Freddy’s recordings. I’m a homesick Kiwi in England, and their album is one of my very favourites.

I have a great live Fat Freddy’s Drop set from a gig in Amsterdam. You’d be welcome to share it on your site, as long as you credit me. The link is here:
http://www.mediafire.com/?5rjlxf0jjjv

hi mermaidnz, I am going to post a thread on the live set from you soon, thanks for providing the file, I´m listening to it at the moment, sweet music

[…] communicate, not only click click click bye. If you don´t know Fat Freddy´s Drop, read that older thread and start to explore […]

Hey man, trying to get a hold of the Radio Active FM Session and rapidshare is coming up with a “file missing” error. any chance you could re-up that session or send it to me somehow? I am in love with Freddy’s. I’ve just seen them recently in Sydney, and couldn’t stop listening to them and The Black Seeds over the past two weeks while I was traveling around NZ! I can’t find that session anywhere else and would LOVE to hear the decent quality. Many thanks in advance!

Cheers,
Edwin

hi edwin, I don´t have access on my record collection and mp3s for a few months, so I´m not able to reupload any older stuff from my blog, I´m sorry!

When you regain access can you shoot me an e-mail? As we’ve seen, Freddy’s is always worth the wait. Dr. Boondigga and the Big BW will be in my mailbox sometime next week! Can’t wait!

sure edwin, I hope I still have the mp3s (you know what happened: data loss), sadly I don´t own the record on my own, I think it isn´t available anymore. but if I still have the radio session I will drop you a note, stay tuned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

always open minded! feel free to leave a comment if you like or dislike the music, the review or just this blog in general. make the monologue a dialogue! (and receiving some responses keeps me motivated)

normally I try to post new stuff once a week, quality not quantity, so the front page shows you the posts of the last month, but there is a lot more to discover, just click your way thru the older entries.

read more about urbanology´s concept

bookmark www.urbanology.tk and never lose us!



mail contact: urbanology@safe-mail.net






if you don´t want to use RSS, why not subscribe and receive email notifications about new posts? life can be so pleasant...

Join 10 other followers

music is universal

Categories

